User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Message data between Micro820 to Micro820/850

  1. #1
    Senior Member maitrey27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Post Message data between Micro820 to Micro820/850

    Shawn,

    Good morning, Hope this message finds you well.

    I have designed a program where I have 6 read/write tags for external communication (for PCS/DCS system..) I want to toggle these tags using any free/low-cost SCADA software (I have already tested these tags using variable monitoring in CCW and it works). Not sure if this is even possible? I know something like this can be done via messaging between two PLCs but don't know if we can use software to do the same.

    Just curious on the part that how a facility connects a SCADA software to these PLCs and pull all these tags and be able to read/write from it.

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Administrator Shawn Tierney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Berkshires, MA
    Posts
    2,412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    25
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    9
    Thanked in
    9 Posts
    Good afternoon @maitrey27,

    I'm out of town at the moment, but I do have a video on the blog on how to connect FTView to a Micro800 here:

    https://theautomationblog.com/use-mi...-ftview-video/

    Hope this helps,

    Shawn Tierney,
    Instructor at www.TheAutomationSchool.com
    Looking for affordable automation training? If you are, check out my courses at TheAutomationSchool.com!

  3. #3
    Senior Member maitrey27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Thanks for sharing Shawn. This makes sense. I will apply this method and let you know the results soon.

  4. #4
    Senior Member maitrey27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Hi Shawn,

    That was definitely helpful. But, in my case I have "REMOTE_OPERATION_WRITE.0" TO "REMOTE_OPERATION_WRITE.3" as I am supposed to write for individual bits. In the FTView Studio, I only see REMOTE_OPERATION_WRITE and not individual bits of it. Any idea how can I write to individual bits from FTView Studio?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Administrator Shawn Tierney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Berkshires, MA
    Posts
    2,412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    25
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    9
    Thanked in
    9 Posts
    Good afternoon @maitrey27,

    Yes, you have to add the .0 and .3 yourself - sadly it's been that way for a long time :-(

    Hope this helps,

    Shawn Tierney,
    Instructor at www.TheAutomationSchool.com
    Looking for affordable automation training? If you are, check out my courses at TheAutomationSchool.com!

  6. #6
    Senior Member maitrey27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Good morning Shawn,

    Where do I add this? I have one simple numeric display and maintained push button to trigger this bit. Thanks.

  7. #7
    Administrator Shawn Tierney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Berkshires, MA
    Posts
    2,412
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    25
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    9
    Thanked in
    9 Posts
    Good morning @maitrey27,

    Try adding the .Bit in the Tag/Expression area after selecting the word in the Tag Browser,

    Hope this helps,

    Shawn Tierney,
    Instructor at www.TheAutomationSchool.com
    Looking for affordable automation training? If you are, check out my courses at TheAutomationSchool.com!

  8. #8
    Senior Member maitrey27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Okay, Shawn. I will try and let you know.

    Thanks

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •